top of page

This is bananas!


This week has been a little intense. Seriously. I am feeling as if I have gone to war and thank goodness I have got my life back, well, for a total 3 hours up until this moment. Sitting in a dark, ambigued room for an hour, but not as long as much time I had devoted to stay up all night studying for that one hour! But it is not really surprising to feel this way since it is midterms season. Y'all feelin me? Anyway, I did not cook this dish by myself. To be very honest to you. My cousin made this since last time we made a trip back home. It was a hot day (well, what else is new) and we were trapped into the house for like 3 days straight. Only a trip we made to the morning markets everyday was the only freedom we allowed ourselves to have. Anyway, we were bored and my cousin was not. So she made this korean style fried bananas for us and MAN! they were good! And simple ( from what i'd secretly asked her) And bear with me, everybody loves fried stuff. Here you go. Thank me later, boo.

Korean style fried bananas.

What you need :

(serving 2 people)

2 bananas

1 cup of bread crumbs

1 egg, beaten

splash of milk

salt to taste

ketchup or honey if you will

salt to dip the bananas in!

Now chop the bananas into big chunks then set them aside. In a bowl, mix the milk and egg together then season with some salt. Dip the bananas in. Make sure the egg mixture cover every part of the banana. Now coat every inches of it with breadcrumbs! Make it rain here people. The key of good fried bananas is here, for real. Now in a pan with about 1/2 cup of vegetable oil, set it over the medium heat and wait until you see little bubbles floating to surface. You want the oil to be nice and hot so that your bananas won't get soaky with oil. Also, a little tip from my cousin, you can add the salt to the oil and that will help preventing from our food to get real oily. Once ready, fried a few bananas at a time. Dont overcrowd the pan otherwise they will just stick together and that ain't pretty. When you see that the color starts to change to golden brown, you'll know it's ready. Dont wait until they burn. Enjoy them while they are still warm. My cousin had lived in Korea for 2 years and she said the way people eat them is with salt. Yep they dip the fried banana in the salt. I tried it and did not fancy it as much for I think the taste went much better with the ketchup. But that's it! Easy Korean style fried bananas.


bottom of page