top of page

A Shared Bread.


"When I look for bread, I don't look for the one with the commercial yeast" Malin said while I was intensely staring at her, disbelived.

March 18th, last friday, was my birthday. I should have been focused on the changed number of my age, to feel either happy, thrilled, or even paranoided of getting old, but I did not. I did not think one bit about numbers or that catchy Taylor Swift's song. Not even a sec. Instead, I thought of a new chapter. A new opportunity to push myself forward and t gain more love toward my very own self.

It was Katy's Birthday also but what a bummer, she had to go to class. Therefore I had a day filled with whatever I truly wanted to do to feel like I was a grown up. Like I was not afraid to step on the road alone. So off I went. To the movie. To the admiring Zoothopia. It surprised me how comfortable I had got in that lone seat of the theater. I remember laughing as loud as I wanted and did not even give a damn if it was weird. It was good. And as I slowly crawled out of the dark square room, I paced slowly to the bookstore, knowing Katy would be there soon.

I went through the bread section quickly but carefully. I was trying to see if any of them were eyeing at me, or grabbing my attention. Then, I found this book. "The Bread Exchange". It caught my attention right away. All week last week, all I could think about was sharing bread. Knowing better than anyone else I am no expert in the art of bread baking. But I had always known for a long time bread was something I really wanted to be exposed to. So after breaking my first loaf of bread I had made, I got this feeling of certainty in my stomach. It was like I had fallen in love for someone I had always looked over, but also always knew he was there. So I started experimenting with the recipe and the most important part of the progress, sharing it. And that day, I woke up thinking of bread and of the next tartget I wanted to hand the bread to. So seeing this book on my hands, I bet you could imagine how appealing itseemed to me at the moment.

Not even a moment of hesitation, I dropped my butt down the seat like it wa hot. Started reading right away. And in that moment, that very important moment, my mind was blown.

"The moment was grand". That was all I could think of. Reading through her poem on the introduction, her story, cozy pictures, all that was overwhelming. I thought to myself, the day was completed. It was more than enough. My day was made. I can't really explain why I felt the way I felt, except to say that it was serene. I do not know if you would feel the same thing i felt for we are not the same person with the same mind. But just to let you know I had a grand moment that day. And I guess that's really the whole point of me writing this.

But here comes the most exciting part!!!! The next morning, I woke up (again) thinking of bread exchange, so yes, I stalked her on instagram and just to found that she was here in Bangkok!!! Let me tell ya, I freaked the heck out.

Immediately I commented on her post, asking if she was still here in the lovely mango city. I did not set my hope up too much cause I had never had luck in anything really. But 10 minutes later, I looked on my instagram just to saw that Malin had answered my message! We talked for a bit and I told how much she had inspired me through her book! She then texted back that we should meet up for coffee. I hope you knew how excited I got!

The next day came and we decided t meet up for a quick talk. Katy and I were stressing out, as usual. We had never her before and with the fact that she was super friendly and eager enough to meet up with two thai strangers was a little surprising! But everything went GREAT. We had lovely conversation and she made us feel hecka comfortable! She was incredibly open about her story and did not mind one bit to let the baby boy playing with us. We went down to check out her friend's bread bakey for a little while, trying various types of bread before we had to part. I felt as if I had exposed myself to the loveliest expereince. What a coincidence. Two great things happened two days in a roll, from the same story. Bread exchange. Although, we did not get to exchange bread but most important of all, she had shared me her story, and I had shared her my appreciation for making my birthday a thoughful one through her words from the book. I felt as if my year was already completed even. But nope, not yet. I know in my heart there are many more to come. Except that was just the greatest start of my year. I am so in love with my life. And I know you can tell, too. - Candice.


bottom of page