top of page

The Quiet Bread


I used to wonder how does it feel to make your own food from scratch, or how exciting it would be to feel like your limitation of food is diminished. And when these things actually happened and no longer be my wonders, I found it very exciting and overwhelming beyond words.

I am crazy about food. One might says obsession is a bad thing but I'd rather think it's a blessing. A very darling one. And can you imagine how blessing I feel everyday waking up, looking at the quiet loaf of bread, and have millions of thoughts about what I am going to make it into? I say he is quiet becuase bread to me is a very humble person. The kind of life that is so attractive it does not need any aesthetic explanation. All day long I feel he is eyeing at me, urging me to get up and share him to others, either buttered or toasted. And I really enjoy the whole process of it. Measuring, kneading, a little of tremendous love, baking, and sharing it.- Candice.

This is one of the first few dishes I had tried with my first loaf of bread. And I am telling ya now, a loaf can last us for a week! Well, not really true anymore since I basically have a slice or two for breakfast every single darn day. Always a good start, guys. Always.

Chicken Sanwich with Boiled Eggs and Garlic, Sweet Basil Bechamel Sauce.

This makes 2 sandwiches

What you need :

A loaf of rustic bread

2 boiled eggs

1 teaspoon od dijon mustard

For the chicken

1 chicken breast

Curry Powder

1 teaspoon of vinegar

A pinch of cumin powder

Salt and pepper to taste

For the side

A handful of salad mix

A handful of starwberries

For the bechamel sauce.

2 teaspoons minced garlics (we used a little more than this cause obviously we are huge fans of garlic)

2 leaves of sweet basil, chopped.

1/4 teaspoon of salt (a pinch)

a pinch of pepper

1 teaspoon flour

3/4 cup of milk

1. Marinate the chicken in the seasonings stated above. Leave it for 10-15 minutes.

2. For the sauce, saute the garlic in a little bit of oil until you can smell the sweet aroma from the garlic. Add the flour and stir for a bit. You don't want the raw taste of the flour.

3. Now add the milk and stir until it has thicken. I have to inform you that this sauce will not be runny. I intended to make it thick so it will be easy to spread on the bread.

4. Now it's the perfect time for seasoning with salt and pepper. Then at the end, add the sweet basil because this will cook pretty quickly. Your sauce is ready!!

5. Now to the assembling part, spread the dijon mustard on both 2 slices of bread to make a sandwich. For the bechamel sauce, we dip the sandwich with it but you can spread it on the bread, as well. Then put the chicken and sliced boil egg in the middle. Serve with salad and ta da!! You have your sandwiches ready for the day!


bottom of page