top of page

The Laughing Cookies.


It was a rainy day. We've been preparing for ages for this day to come; The day the brand 'THE TWINS' to be heard and seen by others.

For days,I had been experimenting with flavors to add in the cake. I wanted it to be the flavors of Thai; the flavors that would remind me most of my childhood days. And the one thing that came to my mine was the 'laughing cookies' my mom used to buy us on every Saturdays back when Candice and I were really young. The cookie itself is made from a simple dough of eggs, flours, and oils coated in sesame seeds. But what makes it different from all the cookies is that it's not baked but deep-fried. And the sesame seeds when being fried, it releases an earthy smell,and toasty flavor. Let it rest for a little bit after frying, then eat it right when it gets warmer. Soo Goood. Candice and I could never eat less than a bag of these cookies at a time. They were that good. With that reason, I decided that I would do a muffin out of the flavors of these 'laughing cookies'.

Coconut milks, tahini, and mango, were all the flavors that came to my mind. It took me days for the flavors and the textures to come out the way I liked, but it was worth it. The day before THE TWINS event, I baked a batch of the muffin. When I took it out of the oven and waited for it to cool down. I remember me being so nervous that the cake wouldn't come out right. I took one muffin, broke it in half, and I could hear the crunch and see the steam floating up from the freshly baked cake. I put it on my tongues,and slowly tasted the flavors, very very slowly. And it was really interesting. All flavors did not come out at the same time. The smell of coconut milks was so strong, but balanced well with the smell of vanilla extracts. The first moment of chewing, I could taste the tahini which tasted a little weird, but very interesting; a little tangy and nutty flavors. And then, after chewing for a while, I bit into chunks of mangoes and it tasted so much like Thailand. The muffin was perfect. The whole idea of it. How each ingredients was working with each other. Each flavor complimented the others, but at the same time, each showed off the flavor of itself outstandingly. So, I was sure, I came across something that I, myself, really enjoyed.

On the day of the twins' event, not a lot of people found to like my muffin. And maybe because of the interesting taste of it that a lot of people were not used to. However, it surprised me how much that didn't effect me to feel disappointed for what I had come up with. Instead, I was feeling so proud of the muffins. I was proud of the process of coming up with the recipe, the process of adjusting the amount of each ingredient, and, most importantly, how the flavors reminded me so much of my childhood.

Have a really beautiful day- Katy.


bottom of page